Online LTC Class+ Houston Shooting Proficiency

Online LTC Class+ Houston Shooting Proficiency

license to carry class, ltc, concealed carry

Houston LTC Class
+
Shooting Proficiency Test


$60

*Range Fee, Handgun, and Ammunition is Student’s Responsibility

  • Complete Training for Texas License to Carry.
  • Official Texas DPS Approved LTC Course.
  • Immediate Access To Course  After Purchase.
  • Meets Texas Law with a State Certified Instructor
  • Take the Class Online from Anywhere at Anytime.
  • Must Schedule Shooting Proficiency Test with Our Instructor in Houston Once Online Class Complete.

Gun Range Info

Texas DPS approved, CHL, official course provider, license to carry

license to carry instructorOur lead instructor, Jay Lewis, boasts nearly two decades of legal education and experience and nearly 10 years as a dedicated firearms instructor across various cities in Texas. Alongside his legal expertise, he brings his fervor for firearms and passion for teaching gun laws to students across the United States.

As a certified firearm instructor, Instructor Jay has guided and educated over 1,000 novice shooters, aiding them in acquiring skills and confidence across multiple shooting platforms. As a Texas License to Carry Instructor, he has taught over 500 in person classes to people all over Texas. This list includes families, military personnel, churches, private security officers, school teachers,  and college students.

With years dedicated to studying gun laws and undergoing firearms training under renowned instructors and academies in the industry, Jay’s background equips him to deliver firearm training and conduct Texas License to Carry classes enriched with real-world experience, offering perspectives and insights that are often unparalleled.

Certifications Include:

  • Texas License to Carry Instructor
  • Texas Approved Online Course Provider
  • NRA Pistol Instructor
  • NRA Rifle Instructor
  • NRA Personal Protection Inside the Home Instructor
  • USCCA Certified Instructor
  • DPS School Safety Instructor
  • DPS First Responder Course Instructor

 

Texas License to Carry Benefits

Texas License to Carry No License
Carry Concealed In 37 states outside Texas
Carry in Federal Gun Free School Zones
Bypass Background Checks when Purchasing Firearms
Carry in Public Place With Any Type of “No Firearm” Sign Posted
Legal Protections When Carrying at Certain Prohibited Locations
Carry Inside College Campus Buildings and College Sporting Events
Room of an Open Meeting of a Governmental Entity
Airport  Trespass Protections
Carry in Nursing Facilities
Carry in Hospitals
Learn Texas Laws
Open Carry a Handgun in Public
Concealed Carry a Handgun in Public

The Texas LTC gives legal protections and multiple benefits when carrying a gun in Texas. Not only are there advantages within Texas law for having an LTC, the online class also covers material that every gun owner is responsible to know and is crucial to be aware of.

Permitless Carry, or Constitutional Carry, does not effect the LTC in Texas. Every responsible gun owner should still have an LTC for the reasons listed above. The LTC class covers Texas laws and regulations surrounding guns and carrying a handgun. 

This class does not teach how to carry a gun, what equipment to select, or how to draw the gun from a concealed holster. 

1.Take Our LTC Class

online license to carry, concealed carry class, ltc

This class is a total of 4 hours, required by Texas DPS. You will be issued an LTC 100/101 certificate immediately upon completion. Can be taken by anyone, anywhere, and on any device with internet including smartphones and laptops.

2. Proficiency Demonstration

After the class, Texas DPS requires every student to complete the proficiency demonstration. This consists of the 50 round shooting qualification and range instruction with an LTC Instructor.

FINISHED THE ONLINE COURSE? You can schedule the shooting with us HERE in HOUSTON

3. Application and Fingerprinting

Once the training is completed, the online application (through DPS) and fingerprinting (Identogo) is completed. DPS will mail your license to you once completed.

FAQ and Course Info

Can I really earn my License to Carry a Handgun Online?

Yes. New Texas Law allows for the Classroom Instruction Portion of the License to Carry training be made available online. ENROLL HERE

I’m a Texas Department of Public Safety Certified License to Carry Instructor and an Online License to Carry Instructor with decades of experience in both Firearm Laws and Education.

Our Course is Approved Statewide. Anyone from anywhere can take our course.

*You will still need to schedule & complete the Shooting Qualification after this class. I’m also certified to administer this as well.

**I am certified under Texas GC 411.188 and GC 411.190 to administer the LTC Online Course (classroom instruction only)**

**View Our State Certification HERE

Can I take the LTC class if I am under 21?

Yes. As of September 21, 2021, new Texas law allows for a person 18 years of age or older to take the LTC class and apply for their license to carry. DPS cannot deny an application based on age alone. You must meet the legal requirements to obtain a license.

Class Topics Covered

This online LTC course will cover the following topics:

  1. Weapon Law
    – Laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force
  2. Handgun Use and Safety 
    – Including use of holders and methods to ensure the secure carrying of handguns
  3. Non-Violent Dispute Resolution 
    – Deescalation techniques including communication skills and situational awareness
  4. Safe Storage Practices 
    – handgun storage options and law relating to storage

All of the material provided relates back to carrying a pistol in public in order to be as safe as possible. Whether you intend to carry a gun or not, this course is great for anyone interested in learning more about the above topics. 

Where and how can I take the Online Class?

This online class can be taken from almost any smartphone, tablet or computer and from anywhere in the world. Just login and begin watching the videos. You do not have to be located in Texas to take the online course.

How do I schedule my shooting qualification?

You will schedule a day/time to meet with a Certified LTC Instructor in your area at a local gun range.

If in HOUSTON area, we can complete the shooting portion for you.
Click Here

For the Shooting Qualification, you will need:

1 Handgun

50 Rounds of ammunition

Ear & Eye Protection

Training Exemptions and Discounts

If you are active duty military or a veteran that has qualified with a firearm in the last 10 years then you may not need to do the proficiency demonstration (shooting qualification) with an LTC instructor. There are multiple professions listed by DPS that may be exempt from the shooting qualification. 

Do I have to be a Texas resident to get a Texas LTC?

No. Texas will issue a Texas LTC (license to carry) to ANYONE who has a valid drivers license or State ID issued by any one of the 50 States AND meets their requirements. It’s very easy to get a license to carry in Texas.

Where Do I Get My Fingerprints Done?

You must submit your online LTC application  before scheduling your fingerprint appointment.

Unscheduled walk-in service is NOT available. To schedule an appointment at a time and location convenient to you, use one of the following methods:

Visit Fingerprinting Services, please use Service Code: 119Q91 OR
Call (888) 467-2080 and provide Service Code: 119Q91
Do I need a license to open carry in Texas?
 Beginning on September 1, 2021, Permitless/Constitutional Carry is PERMITTED  and LEGAL for anyone at least 21 years old who may lawfully possess a handgun. This new law applies to both OPEN CARRY and CONCEALED CARRY. Specific to OPEN CARRY in Texas is that the firearm MUST BE IN A HOLSTER. 
What about Constitutional/Permitless Carry?

The Texas License to Carry a Handgun, or commonly known as the concealed handgun license and concealed carry permit, does not go away with the passage of permitless carry (also referred to as constitutional carry) in Texas. The LTC remains the best option for concealed and open carry in the state and is extremely beneficial to have if you plan to carry a handgun. 

A few benefits of an LTC include:

  • Carry in More Locations
  • Legal Protections
  • Trespass Protections
  • Carry in 37 States
  • Campus Carry
  • School Zone Carry
  • Law Enforcement Interactions
  • Knowledge of Gun Laws
  • No Background Checks for Gun Purchases
How long will it take to receive my Texas License to Carry ?

Once you submit your online application , the department will make every effort to issue your Texas license to carry within 60 days. This may very depending on how busy they are. If there are any issues with your application. the Department will notify you by mail. If you would like to call them to check the status of you application, you may reach them at 1-512-424-7293

Texas LTC Resources

Important Links: Go here to find where to apply for the Texas LTC, submit LTC renewals, perform status checks, or report a lost/stolen LTC card.

How to Submit the LTC Application: Step-by-step instructions on how to submit an LTC application through the texas.gov website.

 
 

The instructor, Johnathan Lewis, is certified under Texas GC 411.188 and GC 411.190 to administer the LTC Online Course (classroom instruction only).

Online course access expires 6 months from the purchase date. If additional time is needed to complete the class, extensions can be approved