How may we help you?


Frequently Asked Questions

Can I really earn my License to Carry a Handgun Online?

Yes. New Texas Law allows for the Classroom Instruction Portion of the License to Carry training be made available online. ENROLL HERE

I’m a Texas Department of Public Safety Certified License to Carry Instructor and an Online License to Carry Instructor with decades of experience in both Firearm Laws and Education.

Our Course is Approved Statewide. Anyone from anywhere can take our course.

*You will still need to schedule & complete the Shooting Qualification after this class. I’m also certified to administer this as well.

**I am certified under Texas GC 411.188 and GC 411.190 to administer the LTC Online Course (classroom instruction only)**

**View Our State Certification HERE

Are there additional fees after this class for the license?

Yes. There are additional fees upon completion of the online class.


  • Shooting Qualification (Fee Paid to Instructor) 
  • $40 DPS Application Fee (For most applicants, can be cheaper)
  • $11 Fingerprint Fee
How do I schedule my shooting qualification?

You will schedule a day/time to meet with a Certified LTC Instructor in your area at a local gun range.


For the Shooting Qualification, you will need:

1 Handgun

50 Rounds of ammunition

Ear & Eye Protection

I finished the Online Class & Shooting Qualification & have my Certificate (LTC 101) now what?
Does Texas Have Constitutional Carry?

Texas passed Constitutional Carry on September 1, 2021. It is very restrictive on where you can carry and it has a lot of limitations that you won’t have if you just get a License to Carry.

Who Is Exempt From The Shooting Portion?

There are certain people who only need the online class portion of the Texas license to carry class to get a Texas license to carry. The people listed below are exempt from the shooting portion of the class.

Texas State correctional officers (CO’s) are automatically exempt from the shooting portion.

Active duty military or veterans that have proof of firearms familiarization training OR shooting scores dated within the past 10 years.

County jailers who have proof of firearms training as part of their employment.

What address do I mail my class form to?

After you submit your ONLINE APPLICATION, you may mail your certificate of training from class and other documents if any, to the address below.  You may also upload them and send them as an attachment online using this link: UPLOAD LTC CERTIFICATE The preferred method is to upload them.

Choose One Option. Do Not do both.

Texas Department of Public Safety
Handgun Licensing – MSC 0245
PO Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0001

Phone: 1-512-424-7293

How do I change the name on my LTC?

You can get the name on your license changed by mailing in form LTC 70. Download form here.

Do I have to be a Texas resident to get a Texas LTC?

No. Texas will issue a Texas LTC (license to carry) to ANYONE who has a valid drivers license or State ID issued by any one of the 50 States AND meets their requirements. It’s very easy to get a license to carry in Texas.

What is the number to the DPS handgun licensing division?

The Texas Department of Public Safety handgun licensing division is located in Austin. You may call them if you have problems with their website or to check the status of your application or for any other questions you may have. The number is 1-512-424-7293.

Where Do I Get My Fingerprints Done?

You must submit your online LTC application  before scheduling your fingerprint appointment.

Unscheduled walk-in service is NOT available. To schedule an appointment at a time and location convenient to you, use one of the following methods:

Visit Fingerprinting Services, please use Service Code: 119Q91 OR

Call (888) 467-2080 and provide Service Code: 119Q91
Do I need a license to open carry in Texas?
 Beginning on September 1, 2021, Permitless/Constitutional Carry is PERMITTED  and LEGAL for anyone at least 21 years old who may lawfully possess a handgun. This new law applies to both OPEN CARRY and CONCEALED CARRY. Specific to OPEN CARRY in Texas is that the firearm MUST BE IN A HOLSTER. 
Can I take the LTC class if I am under 21?

Yes. As of September 21, 2021, new Texas law allows for a person 18 years of age or  older to take the LTC class and apply for their license to carry. DPS cannot deny an application based on age alone. You must meet the legal requirements to obtain a license.

How do I replace a lost License ?

If you lose your license, you can get a replacement license by logging in as a returning user HERE. If you have any questions, you may call the handgun licensing division at: 1-512-424-7293.

How do I renew my Texas license to carry ?

You renew your Texas license to carry online now at this link CLICK HERE. Log in as a “returning user” and renew, if the renewal link is not there, it’s to early for you to renew your Texas license to carry. You can not renew your Texas license to carry until it’s not longer than 6 months before it expires. No class or fingerprints are needed to renew. Just renew online and pay your fee and that’s it. For questions call DPS at  1-512-424-7293.

How long will it take to receive my Texas license to carry ?

Once you submit your online application , the department will make every effort to issue your Texas license to carry within 60 days. This may very depending on how busy they are. If there are any issues with your application. the Department will notify you by mail. If you would like to call them to check the status of you application, you may reach them at 1-512-424-7293